A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

A crime is a crime no matter whether one commits it knowingly or unknowingly. Someone who commits a crime need to be punished no matter what.A person who commits a crime should never be allowed to escape from the eyes of the law.Nonetheless is the person who commits a crime knowingly.Someone who commits a crime knowingly deserves more than the others who do it unknowingly.

Punishments are for people who abide by the law.Law and order is indispensable for the proper governance of the state and to maintain peace and harmony.People who commit crime or does not abide by the law need to be punished which serves as a leading light for them to repent from their mistakes and to not do it again.But people who commit crimes knowingly ,when treated by the same way ,it has no effect on them. So people who commit crimes knowingly should be deprived of their social rights or the right to benefit from his own labor.

Human beings are the only living creatures on this planet bestowed with the gift of the sixth sense,the sense to know which is right and which is wrong.So when a person who can very well think on their own commits a crime deliberately ,he should not only be punished but deprived of his rights. A person who does not go by the law deserves none of his civil rights or benefits from his labor.

Such people have a very deleterious effect on the society. Only if he is deprived of his rights he will at least realize the importance of law . The law and order and civil rights are only for people who abide by the law and not for those who disrespect it.To err is human nature .Therefore if someone commits a crime by mistake he deserves a punishment and must be given a chance to repent.However one who does it deliberately need no such concessions i.e the chances to repent.Elsewhere this will bring a negative connotation of the law among the people and people will lose their respect for the law and start acting on whichever way they want. They deserve no benefits form their own labor too when they are capable of committing mistakes knowingly.

However everyone are equal before law ,whether they do mistakes knowingly or unknowingly. Everyone has their own rights and to be benefited from their own labor.

To conclude, In spite of everyone being equal before law ,a person who commits a crime knowingly is considered to have broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor to maintain peace and harmony.