The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument does not have any proper evidence that maintains that the sanctuary may be affected due to construction of roads.

The argument fails to address on what exactly led to repeal the sanctuary's status in 1978.It may be due to various other issues like change in environmental conditions,impact due to pollution or change in lifestyle habitats.

The argument fails to explain the similarities between the tufted groundhog and sea otters.So this does not provide enough evidence to say that the laying of roads might have deleterious effects on the environment.Sine sea otters and tufted groundhogs requires different environmental habitats,the groundhogs might not see the laying of roads as a threat to its survival.

The letter states that the sanctuaries were similar but fails to address the similarities between the occupants of the sanctuaries.

So this does not provide enough evidence to the West Lansburg council to reconsider their decision to build the road.