A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Committing crime knowingly or unknowing is an offence. A crime shouldn't be committed knowingly.

Hence, a person who knowingly commits a crime has indeed broken the social contract and should be deprived of any civil rights or right to benefit from his/her own labor.

Every person living in this world is adhered by some rules called social contract. The rules include non impeachability of one's freedom. Committing a crime is against the law and it's against the social contract as well. Crime could be committed knowingly or it could be committed for varied reasons that could be justifiable. A girl who commits crime for self defence and if proven true would be considered a justifiable crime and wouldn't come under the category of purposeful crime. Whereas, the crime committed with vindictive attitude would be qualified as a purposeful crime.

Nonetheless, any crime is punishable under the law, that punishment differs when the justification provided seems reasonable.

Moreover, a person committing crime with cruel or purposeful intensions has broken the social contract to which he/she should have followed. Besides, not revocking the retainment of civil rights would expose this world to further consequences from that person.To exemplify the stated argument, a serial killer who committed a series of macabre, if left as a normal citizen in a country, wouldn't be afraid of performing those crimes in a repeated manner. This doesn't concern only to a person who is commits murder, suppose a smuggler with his normal civil rights woudn't be ashamed to do so after undergoing a punishment from law, say jail for 3 or 4 years.

However, with another point of view, depriving civil rights for a crime that is committed in a vindictive manner or purposefully, would beg the question of whether the person was given a chance to rectify. Before this imposement of ultimate punishment of depriving one from his/her own civil rights, a chance for rectification should be provided. If repeated crimes are commited with purposeful intentions then it would without question call into revokement of retaining one's civil rights.

Hence, a person who commits crime knowingly should be deprived of his/her civil rights.