The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial: "The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that a country's autonomy is based on the strength of it's borders, the argument is not coherent in making claims that immigrants who cross those borders illegally pose the threat of endangering the national identity and economy. Hence, the argument is flawed because of numerous reasons.

It can't be ignored that the argument states illegal immigrants entering the country can't be checked. The argument fails to provide a valid reason why the number of people entering the country cannot be checked.The argument is generalizing that all the illegal immigrants are a threat to the country's identity and ecomony.There are high chances that a person entering the country legally and attaining illegal immigration status by succmbing to a swindle and had to leave the country.

Futhermore, the argument states the country's autonomy is based on the strength of the borders. A country's autonomy may not be always based on it's borders. It could be based on a country's internal diversity or a country's religion.Additionally, the argument states that because the number of people entering the country can't be checked the country has the threat of endangerment of it's economy and identity. The argument uses the premise of basing the the autonomy of a country to it's borders and fails to provide an evidence that immigrats entering via border would be called as illegal immigrats.Had the argument stated that illegal immigrants are the one who enter the country by sneeking through borders, the argument would have provided a valid definition of an illegal immigrant.

With all that being said, the argument fails to provide cogent explanation for the effort that must be taken to return illegal immigrants.