The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A true leader is the one who takes his/her team to the pinnacle of glory.

Therefore, the best way for a society to prepare its young generation for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by teaching them a sense of cooperation rather than a competition.

Current need for today's generation is availability of great leader. In my opinion, leader is the one who takes his/her team to the apex of glory. For example, in a football match a captain leading the team to a victory with good team play and organization would clearly surpass a captain who plays a game with individual brilliance. No doubt both are winning team captains, but the captain of the former team would be qualified as a great leader than the latter team's captain. This discussion is not circumscribed to only sports, this quality of leadership is required in every field. Be it a government, industry, or any other fields per say.

Moreover, the need of the hour is not only competition amongst fellow collegues but a mutual cooperation and support with healthy competition. In the field of software industry, two collegues competiting for their promotion for the place of team lead, should support and cooperate with each other for reaching that position. It would be an utter faisco, if there exisits severe competition with none of them willing to help one another.In fact, to inculcate this behaviour, management(in case of software industry Managers or above) should keep cooperation with fellow collegues as one of the criteria before granting the team lead position.

Although, the mutual cooperation is required for excelling, one must not forget that the sense of competition would allow him/her to surpass the rest.If any field is devoid of competition, then it would reach a stagnant state where it would be deprived of innovations.

Hence, inorder to be a true leader he/she must inculcate the sense of cooperation rather than mere competitive nature.