A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Crimes are the illegal aspects of the society and humanity. If they are done with the full intention of the wrong-doer. it is a serious culprit which not only questions the existence of laws but also morality within the society. But crime, either wittingly or unwittingly done, should be penalized according to the laws formulated on the basis of it's severity and it's impact on the society. I am not fully convinced with the author's claim on the statement. A person has a right to retain his civil rights and right to benefit from his or her own labour after he is captivated.

Crimes indicate the downfall of the norms and values existed in the society. If a person commits any crime, he is surely against the country's rules and socials morals which are very needed to make peace and well being in the society. So, it's necessary to provide penalty in accordance to the laws and in accordance to his severity of crimes. For example; A rapist and a simple thief are different in the nature of their crimes and penalty should be different. A rapist may be strongly penalized in a puritanical society- in this context, he cannot get any civil rights and right to benefit from his own labour after being punished. It might be seem justifiable because it helps to reduce such hideous acts in the future. If such strong penalty are not given, people may not care rules and norms of the society and they will go beyong the established rules and regulations. Also, these sorts of penalty will preclude these sorts of crimes in the future.

However, all crimes are not same. It will be baseless to provide same type of penalty to all types of crimes. People should enjoy their civil rights and rights to benefit from his or her own labour after they get their own punishment. After punishment, they realized their mistake and often they takes the right path. In this circumstances, if they are not provided with their rights, it questions the existence of humanity. The punishment which are given, are basically aimed to help them build mentally and socially developed. But if they cannot enjoy their rights after they get their punishment, will seriously hamper in their mental and social development. For example, there are lots of minor cases in the police custody. If all of them are treated harshly, then how can we dream of better and humane society? It will seriously affect our society and nation. For example: if all the wrong doers are bereft of civil right like voting, it will seriously hamper our democracy and eventually in our national economy too.

Many might argue that crimes weaken our society, so the wrong doer should be penalized harshly and should not be given civil rights. But just keeping them away from the civil rights will just create the feeling of alienation in the same country. And such punishment will not always ensure these crimes will not be repeated in future.

In this way, it is concluded that crimes, with respect to it's severity should be penalized. All crimes are not of similar nature. So it is not necessary that a guilty should be devoid of this civil rights or benefits from his or own labour after getting the proper punishment.