Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is a topic of hot debate -- how politicians should do their jobs. They may have strong ideals to begin

with, but it is important to seek the approval of the majority before taking important decisions. I mostly agree with the prompt because pursuing common ground helps the policy to be implemented much smoother and the mass to receive it positively, which consequently makes the policy stay in place for long periods of time. However, I do concede that leaders require strong ideals and moral codes to be successful, and sometimes they do have to act according to their judgment and not to please others.

First of all, before making crucial decisions, it is important that the politicians take the people's position

into consideration so that the decision is not rejected by the populous. After all, they are the ones who chose the politicians in power. If the politicians pursue common ground, the opposition also has a greater chance of receiving the decision well. This makes the process of implementing a policy easier and smoother. Take, for example, if most of the members of a parliament are in agreement about implementing a new rule, and the mass supports it, there is nothing impeding the rule to be enforced.

Secondly, if the politicians pursue general consensus about a policy before implementing it, the policy will mostly be proper due to the criticism of the opposition, and as a result, it will be long-lasting, effective as well. Take, for example, if a politician is taking in the input from the people and seeking a general consensus, that policy has the potential to be suitable for the citizens, which assures the longevity of the policy. If the policy was not well accepted, however, the people may not follow it or worst of all -- they may reject it altogether. Thus, it is vital for any politician to negotiate with the opposition and common mass to come to a common ground and implement policies from there.

Sometimes, however, the politicians must take strong stands for the greater good of the nation. The masses may not be correct all the time. For instance, if many of the citizens are reluctant to follow the regulations implemented for the covid-19 pandemic, a leader must not give in and withdraw all the regulations for the greater good of the citizens.