Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

People those who join the politics have their own ideals and goals, and they want to implement their goals in society and that is why they are in politics. However, the prompt suggests that the politicians should seek for the common ground and warranted consensus rather than those ideals. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this prompt and agrue that politicians should go for common ground rather than focusing on their own ideals, however, in some cases they should pursue their goal and ideals to promote their own agendas. I will try to clear up my position by the following three reasons.

First of all, If the politians get the power to run a country, they may have the opportunity to ignore the views of the opposition party and to implement their own agendas and ideals. This should not be done by the politicians to achieve their own interests, because these motives may lead to a dictatorship in the country which will be a sordid condition for any democratic country. For example, Hitler, in Germany, tried to established his own ideals and goals, which led to the holocaust for the jews community and decimated the communal integrity in the society. Therefore, even if the politicians have the option to pursue their own ideals they should not do that.

Secondly, it is not always possible to establish the ideals of politicians forcefully, ignoring the common ground, even for the betterment of their own party. For instance, consider a hypothetical situation where a communist party might represent the views of millions of people in a country but if they don’t have the majority in the government they cann’t establish their own goals and ideals. In that case, they should grab the common ground with the government party where at least they can have some options to implement their own ideals, though it might have in little amount.

However, I do concede that, in some cases, the politicians should hold their own ideals and belief as well as goals for which they were committed to their voters during the election time. For example, voters elect their candidate those have the common goals and ideals with their ( voters) goals and ideals. Now if the politicians don’t establish their commited ideals rather they seek the common gorund with the opposition party, this may dissapoint their voters and portrait their ( potilicians ) betrayals to their voters.

To sum up, of course, it is true that the politicians should hold their ideals and goals to establish their own agenda, however, in most of the cases they should grab the common ground for the betterment of society and democracy.