The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people’s efficiency so that they have more leisure time

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

technology makes our life easier and reduces the human effort. that increases our ability to concentrate on bigger problems, some of which are born from the advancement in technology itself. let us take the example of our daily life, we wake up in the morning with the beep of our alarms, the toaster gets our breakfast ready and finally we take a cab to commute ourselves to the office. now, if we for a moment go back in time and reflect on how the whole situation would have been without technology we would have to wake up on time all by ourselves. For which we had to sacrifice our late night efforts on completing an assignment, and have to be cautiously aware of the time in our sleep. we would have to prepare our own breakfast and may have to walk ourselves to the office. thus, all of this would waste enough energy and time. In the world of technology, we can avoid these mundane activities and focus majorly on the bigger picture. now, does that increase our leisure time? Well, that varies from person to person. A person who is a workaholic will address the problems that technology has given rise to, like environmental concerns, cyber security, data privacy and resolve these issues while a laid back person may not take much effort in improving our quality of life.

let us talk about the advancement of technology in the field of medical sciences. With the evolvement of the various medical tests, detection of the disease has become more accurate and easier. does that mean that the doctors have more leisure time? The answer is no. now, that detection is faster, the treatment procedure can be started earlier which may spare the patient further harm. A single doctor can now treat more number of patients in the same alloted time and more lives could be saved.

technology has actually given us enough free time. The choice is ours whether to use it for leisure or use it to enhance our skills by facing more serious problems. In the field of entertainment, there has also been enough technological progress. Nowadays, you have access to all the movies and songs just on your fingertip. However, if you assess today's generation, there is a considerable rise in mental problems rising from loneliness, anxiety and inferiority complex. People are more glued to their phones and are cutting down on the human interaction, which completely eclipses the point of enhancing communication to bring our lives closer. Kids these days have become more self-oriented and social skills are found to take a dip in the coming generations. these have all risen from technology. Yes, today you can speak to a person who are in a different continent than you but you done have enough time to go out fishing with your siblings. you may have a thousand friends on facebook but nota single friend to share your tiffin with. thus technology has also brought us farther from our real lives and there is definitely a larger generation gap. our leisure has also become advanced but it has also given rise to many problems and affected the quality of our lives.

In conclusion, I would like to term technology as a boon which comes with its own side effects. it decreases human effort but also gives rise to new problems which are to be resolved.