The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The past has shown that humans are curious creatures, who are bound to explore and find a way which eases their work. The prompt states that the primary goal of technology advancement is to increase efficiency and leisure time. In my opinion, I moderately agree with the statement and argue that this suggestion is true upto some extent for three following two reasons.

Firstly, Increase in the advancement of technology would lead to solving many crucial problems. For instance, the recently spread virus named covid has taken a toll on the population, at some point,it also became an extinction threat to humans, the advancement would not only be helpful for health purposes but also in many areas where we lack the technology to tackle problems, However, these problems might not be related to more leisure time but may be related to the increase in efficiency of the people.

Secondly, sometimes efficiency is directly related to more technological advancement. For instance, work done by a human in a day could be done by a machine in hours or sometimes in minutes, although the machine may be more efficient, it cannot be replaced completely in some areas, where it needs some supervision. Thus the help of machines indirectly mostly increases the efficiency of a person and also helps in the advancement of technology.

Of course, some argue that the primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time. However, as stated above, it might not always be the case as the best way is to always have a more balanced kind of approach.