The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for t

The speaker's view is actually twofold: (1) the primary goal of technological growth is to increase people's efficiency; (2) the increase in efficiency adds to the leisure time. These views, though might be true in the past, are all wrong in the modern society.

Admittedly, the origin of technological progress comes from people's indolence. People keep inventing tools to save them from tedious labors. For instance, the computer was first designed as a substitute for people to calculate the curve of a missile, which freed people from strenuous and boring calculations. And the invention of bicycles released people from wasting a lot of time in walking. On this account, we may say that technological advancement is for people's efficiency.

However, this only held true in the past. There are far more vital concerns that technology can and should address today. For example, the advance in biotechnology not only improve the effectiveness of treatment but also helps to prevent the birth defects; while the progress in Internet technology not only promotes the academic exchange but also provides an easier means, such as the Massive Online Open Courses, to access the educational resources. In this sense, advancing technology can bring outcomes more meaningful than increasing the leisure time. It should be, the goals such as health, academia, and education, rather than leisure, that serve as the proper purpose for developing technology today.

Besides, the increase in efficiency does not necessarily lead to more leisure time, but probably a more productive life, because humanity can never satisfy its desire. Equipped with more advanced tools, one can earn more or do more in the same amount of hours, which would arouse the envy and fear of one's competitors, who have to manage to invent more advanced tools for their survival. The competition never ends, nor does the advancement of technology. Much the same as the evolution theory, in this competition, those who stop enhancing themselves end up with failure. Thus they are left with no choices but to work as hard as before. Therefore, people can never obtain more free time by working more efficiently.

In sum, the speaker's argument does not stand up, for it wrongly places leisure ahead of goals such as improving medical treatment as the proper final objectives of technological growth, and it ignores the fact that increase in efficiency does not add to the leisure time.