Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Nowadays it has already been impossible for one to master knowledge in all fields. Plus the fact that new knowledge always emerges much faster than one eager learner can catch up, we have to resort to only select some knowledge to learn. Then there is a debate about whether it is better to learn broadly than to specialize in one specific subject. Personally, I agree that it is better to learn broadly.

Having a broad knowledge can add to the happiness of life. If one knows about anything, s/he can always have a nice talk with any friends because there are always topics familiar to both of them. Besides, during the chat one can also explore many other topics and probably there are some topics that the friend are not familiar with but interested in. Then the chat can move on with this new topic, from which one receives a sense of achievement and the friend also feels the vision widened. Therefore, the life will be much more interesting, since socialization is truly one of the most important parts of life.

Besides the aspect of happiness, having broad knowledge is also essential for it prevents one from being deceived. Nowadays cheaters always claim themselves as government administrators and demand victims who know little about government policies to transfer money to them. Apparently, armed ourselves with broader knowledge can prevent us from being cheated, but specializing in one specific subject, even to an extent as being a professor does no help at all. For example, it was once reported that a professor in my university was cheated and lost more than 10 million yuan. Therefore, it is crucial to have broad knowledge in order to better protect ourselves.

Moreover, having broad knowledge becomes necessary when it comes to educating our own children. In the early period of education, only common knowledge is enough, and getting in touch with knowledge of more subjects is recommended for it could provide more opportunities for the children to find and develop interests in what are truly suitable for them. Besides, it is not feasible for children to understand unfathomable concepts. In this sense, it is not so helpful to specialize but to learn broadly.

Specializing, certainly, has its own merits. Had there been no scientists, the world would become full of insipidness. But not everyone is suitable or willing to be a scientist. Plus that many scientists are having broad knowledge as well, we should always learn broadly at first. Only after that can we start specializing.