In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Nowadays, cars are no longer some things that are used to showcase people's wealth, because it is rather common that each family possesses one or even more cars. However, this situation is likely to change soon. In Beijing, more and more people are starting taking buses or subways instead of cars to go to work. It is likely that in twenty years, there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

With the development of buses and subways, wherever the destination is, it is more and more convenient to take the bus or subway there. In Beijing, dozens of subway lines, as well as hundreds of bus lines and stations can lead the passenger to anywhere in Beijing. On the contrary, thanks to the popularity of cars, people who drive cars would probably encounter a traffic jam and eventually take more time. Thus taking public transportation vehicles will become more common and eventually take the place of driving cars.

Beyond the convenience, it is also more economical to take buses or subways. A car typically costs several hundred thousand yuan, while taking a bus usually consumes one yuan. So if one takes a bus twice a day, the money to buy a car can afford him/her to take a bus for several thousand years, and that does not count the cost of repairing and fuels yet. Without a car, people could then use the saved money in many other places, such as the education of their children or buying a house. Considering the fact that many families could not both afford their children to receive a better education and buy a house, more and more people would probably discard the thought of owning a car.

From the perspective of governments, more regulations will be put forward to prevent the purchase of cars due to the concern about environmental health. Cars are notorious for its producing of carbon dioxide which directly causes the greenhouse effect. There are growing concerns about this issue across the world. More governments enact policies to reduce the effect, which usually consists of the restrictions of cars. For instance, Beijing only allows the cars with odd or even car plate number to be driven on some roads in some certain time. This is the trend, and people's desire to own a car will thus decrease over time.

Cars, certainly, have their own merits. People can feel the joy and freedom when driving a car. However, for the sake of convenience, saving money and governmental regulations, there will be fewer people who want to purchase cars, and thus resulting in fewer cars in use than today.