Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, people are having less face time with their relatives, especially members from extended family, which leads to the increasingly distant relationships. Hence, some wrongly assume that the extended family is less important now than it was in the past. In truth, their importance has never changed.

First, they are part of the family. To have a happy family, every member needs to make his/her contribution. Only with good relationships among every member can a harmony family be built. On the contrary, having a bad relationship will inevitably lead to a broken and misery family. For example, when having a party or a meal together on a festival, it is necessary to have a harmonious relationship between the members, so that everyone could share their experience during past few days or months and thus get relaxed. These kinds of parties can also, in turn, strengthen the relationship. However, with bad relationships, these parties would probably culminate in silent ones, where no one is really willing to talk. Probably only some greeting words could be spoken in the parties but nothing more. In the end, the family may be broken, which may bring a sense of loneliness, without any hope to have a harmonious family. Therefore, in order to build a complete and happy family, extended family members are also important.

Besides, family members are always friends indeed. They are someone who you can turn to when in need. Now that only some few friends are trustworthy, it is of great importance to have some true friends. Since there are ties of blood between our family members with us, they will always treat us as their closest friend and altruistically offer their help whenever we are asking, as long as the relationships are not so terrible. Therefore, these relationships need to be and should have been kept well.

Speaking of offering help, most of them, like your grandparents, probably helped to bring you up. Beyond the moral obligation to repay them, the invaluable memory also makes this relationship even more important. No other people but they know about what funny things you did and what mistakes you made in your childhood. This kind of treasure is not something can be seen or stored. It only exists between people, between you and your family members. Without them, there may be a sense of vain and lonely when recalling childhood. Besides, there are always some memories of which you probably have no deep impression. That is when your family members can do you a favor, to help you recall. Without them, this part of memory will be lost forever. Therefore, keeping a good relationship with them is the same as to keep a kind of invaluable treasure.

In sum, extended family members are still important, for they are necessary to build a harmony family, true friends and part of the memory in our childhood.