Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The speaker asserts that financial support is necessary for major cities to thrive, because it is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated. I agree insofar as nothing can be done without enough funding. At the same, however, I disapprove of the idea that cultural traditions are preserved and generated primarily in cities. Sometimes small country towns take more effect on it. Besides, there are many other aspects of greater importance need to be accounted for regarding the progress of a city. Therefore, the speaker overstates the significance of financial support.

There are not always much traditional culture inside a major city. They are called "major" probably due to recent policies that happened to provide them with the opportunity to achieve an economic success. They could even be a new district just created by the government. In this case, there is no correlation between major cities and cultural traditions. On the contrary, some small towns, though with mid-level financial state, possess many more traditions carried on from generation to generation. For example, in China, the city of Quanzhou is well-known for the diversity of cultural traditions there. It is even called the "cultural capital of East Asia". However, it is not so rich as the city of Guangzhou, which is known as one of the five major cities in China. What one can find in Guangzhou are only modern buildings, much different from the numerous ancient buildings and temples in Quanzhou. Therefore, major cities do not necessarily lead to more cultural traditions.

Besides, apart from money, even more important is the education and publicity to arouse the public's awareness so that the trations could be preserved and generated. In my hometown, yet for a considerable income the city obtain each year, little attention is paid to the preservation of cultural relics, such as the dialect there. More and more children have lost the ability to speak it fluently, and no compulsory class has been set to teach it. Lacking of the standard, the remaining who are able to speak fluently speak quite differently, which impedes the use, spead and preservation of the dialect. Had the government encouraged us to use our dialect and educated the public to be aware of its significance, this situation would nerver have taken place. Therefore, money is not everything, and there are still many other aspects that should be taken into account. And many of these apsects really do not require much funding. For instance, to spread the thought, writing some posts on the newspaper and put on some posters on the community would be sufficient, which are not likely to be costly.

Admittedly, enough funding is always important, when it comes to exploiting new lands, establishing new business or promoting the progress of technology. These are all key factors for a city to thrive. For example, in the laboratory where I am doing a research internship in my university, there is a cluster consisting of 16 advanced computers, each of them worth more than 10 thousand yuan. Considering the large number of laboratories in my university, the cost to support the research of the whole university would be very high. However, it is these labotories that contribute to the advance of science and technology, which improve our life and bring more money in return. On this account, the government does need to ensure the sufficient financial support.

In sum, I do admit the significance of financial support. However, I disagree with the speaker's argument, which ignores the importance of small towns and overstates the significance of funding.