Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Friends and teachers are probably the people that a student meets most frequently at school. Some may think teachers have more influence on students, because of their prestige. However, the reality is usually the opposite: students are more influenced by their friends.

First of all, students are having more time with their friends than their teachers, and will thus be more influenced by their friends. Typically, they need to have 10 classes per day, each with 45 minutes, during which they usually could go nowhere but sit on their seats with their classmates. Totally, a student can spend at least near 8 hours with the classmates nearby, which encourages the development of their friendship. As a result, most of them become very good friends. Then they spend more time together, such as hanging out together on the weekend, which is a common activity of students. While a teacher usually has one or two classes per day, and it is rare to meet students on weekend, except for those having a bad grade. In this sense, we can see that it is easier for friends to influence students because they are almost together for many hours every day.

Besides, students usually have more in common with their peers rather than their teachers. They probably share the same favorite cartoons and songs, or they may be fans of the same pop stars. However, for the teachers, because of their age, their childhood is much more different, which keeps them from having similar topics or interests with these youths. Students feel insipid what teachers like as much as teachers do. Hence, they could never get close to each other, nor could they open their mind and accept each other's opinion. Therefore, teachers have much minor impacts on students than their peers.

Admittedly, teachers are elder and more experienced, which may cause some to believe that students will listen to the teachers' words. However, most students are in their youth, which is exactly the period when they are most likely to defy others and disobey rules. The more prestigious, the more rule-breaking behaviors. Therefore, most students are indeed less influenced by teachers, unless they have already passed their youth.

In sum, students are more inclined to be affected by their students than teachers, because their students are spending more time with them, closer and this very youth period that they are in.