We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own."; disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Nowadays, the ever-accelerating advance of science and technology leaves us narrow chances to escape but to eagerly learn as much and efficiently as possible to prevent from falling behind the society. However, occupied by busier work, we are left with less time to study. On this account, it is increasingly important to learn in the most effective way. Some would assume that we can learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own, because of the disagreement that can potentially cause stress and inhibit learning. My opinion is, however, quite the opposite: we can learn much more by learning from people holding different views.

First of all, what we have believed in is usually incomplete or inaccurate. Sometimes the truth lies on the opposite side. That is when we have to lower ourselves and learn from others, even if they may laugh at us and bring us great stress. Once I was told that English was very important and I should develop a habit of daily English study. But I did not regard it as important, thought that I would never be going to need English and rarely studied English. The bill comes due, always. English is now what I am suffering from: my weak English ability has impeded me on my way to study abroad. I have already lost a lot of chance to visit other universities overseas due to my poor English, and I have been spending a great amount of time in English in order to pass the language tests so that I can be qualified to apply for the Ph.D. program in December this year. Had I listen to the opinion, life now would have been much easier. Therefore, never think you are always right. Sometimes others' opinion is the truth.

Besides, is taking others' advice so stressful? Being laughed at rarely happens, and usually, it will be just an agreeable talk, where one side expresses the opinion reasonably and the other side feels mind broadened. Even if in the end both sides do not agree with each other, they must be enjoying the process of debating. Through the debate, their mind is activated and they are thus more energetic and can learn more efficiently.

Furthermore, even if it turns out that others' opinion is completely wrong, by debating we can also have a deeper understanding of our own opinion. For example, if we are not clear about some points, the debate happens to provide a great opportunity to find out and make it clear. When debating, reasoning is inevitable, by which we can go through the opinion. Because any point that is not reasonable or not fully developed will be easily amplified by the opponent, we can use this chance to reconsider these issues and develop a deeper understanding. Hence, learning from those holding contrasting views happens to help us understand our own deeply.

In sum, we can learn much more from people whose views contradict our own, because their views may be more accurate than ours, debating with them can activate our mind and provide the chance to fully examine our initial understanding.