Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Life has changed dramatically during the recent decades. It is now easier and more comfortable than it was when my grandparents were children, according to the stories told by the elders and what I have seen today.

In the past, even the basic requirement for the living is hard to satisfy. When xx were still children, most people in China were living on farming. Once the production is low, people will inevitably suffer from hunger. As far as I know, there was a nationwide famine happened in the 1960s. However, nowadays in most of the cities, everyone can easily have a dinner, and no one has ever experienced starve in his/her life. Hence life in the past was much harder than it is today.

In addition to the frequent starving, people in the old days also lived a poor life. Specifically, free trading was forbidden then, which resulted in the slow growth of the economy. Plus the enforcement of the policy of equal wealth and the poverty of the whole country, people at that time were equally poor. Comparing to today, possessing a bike at that time was like possessing a luxury car today. Therefore, people today are much richer than those in the old time.

Moreover, people today live a more convenient live than before due to the improvement of science and technology. Many aspects of life are improved much, such as the public transportation, the coverage of shopping marts, schools and recreational utilities. These all make life much easier. Take the time of going to school for example. A time about tens of minutes is quite common today, but in the past, the time was hundreds of minutes, or should I say, several hours. For instance, my grandfather spent hours walking several kilometers on the mountain road to go to school. But today, for all the schools I studied, I never spent more than 30 minutes to on the way. Therefore, the life today is much more convenient than before.

In sum, according to the satisfaction of the basic living condition, the increment of the wealth of each family and the more convenient life, we are living an easier and more comfortable life than it was when my grandparents were children.