Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the increasing popularity of televisions, we are seeing more and more sophisticated advertisements today. However, full consideration is always necessary before believing any of them for the purpose of preventing being cheated, because most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

First of all, advertising would usually avoid mentioning any disadvantages of their products but only advantages. Even worse, these advantages would probably be exaggerated. Since it is the nature of advertisements to convince consumers to purchase the products, mentioning any disadvantages would obviously lead to the loss of plenty of customers. While on the other hand, the more advantages a product has and the greater its efficacy is, the more customers there would be. Driving by the desire for more profits, most companies will spend a lot of time polishing their advertisements, trying their best to advocate their efficacy but ignore any drawbacks. A few of them will even exaggerate their efficacy in order to make more profits. Apparently, sufficient surveys would be needed before believing any of these advertisements.

Besides, many advertisements take advantage of human's emotions by presenting agreeable settings not related to the product itself. For instance, the advertisements may be presented in a beautiful house, or there may be some popular stars or beautiful models using the products. These factors have no bearing on the quality of the product, but will no doubt affect our emotions. Just imagine a well-made advertisement as a short movie, most people certainly like to watch it, which probably brings good emotions but also encourages an overestimation of the product.

On the contrary, if we look at those products with good quality, we usually could not find any related advertisements. They typically have earned a good reputation long before, which is itself a good advertisement. Hence there is no need to make any more ones. Instead, only those products that could hardly sell require advertisements, because they are less known so that fewer people believe and purchase them. But why are they less known? Two possibilities: (1) they are new ones; (2) they have bad quality. If it happens to be the second case, we really need to pay more attention to instead of easily believing them. If it is the first case, we still need to do more investigations because the efficacy and drawbacks both still remain questionable.

In sum, when seeing an advertisement, we need to be more careful because it probably makes products seem much better than they really are.