It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

The development of social media has greatly shortened the distance between people. And people are making more and more new friends nowadays. Some are not used to the rapid change and argue that it is more important to keep old friends than making new ones. In my opinion, however, making new friends has far more advantages and is thus more important than keeping old friends.

As people make more new friends, they are likely to get more assistance, and in a shorter time when in need. Let's do a simple calculation. Assume that each friend has a probability of 1/10 to offer assistance. Then the expected number of friends who want to help is the number of friends times 1/10. Clearly, one having 10 friends will have 1 friend who is willing to help, and when having 100 friends, that number will be 10. Similarly, we can also build a mathematical model to analyze the time from asking for help to obtain the assistance in terms of the number of friends. The result is similar: the more the friends, the shorter the time. Therefore people with more friends can get more support in a shorter time.

Besides obtaining more supports, making more new friends can also help you to see things more thoroughly. "There are no two identical leaves in the world". So is the characteristics and minds of humans. Each new friend will have a totally different characteristic and a unique way of viewing the world. Learning their opinions helps to complete your own idea about the world. In this way, your mind is opened and your perspective about the world changes. You will be able to see many issues from different perspectives, thus become a wiser person.

Apart from those factors mentioned above, in reality, making new friends is indeed quite useful in helping to adopt the frequent change of working or living environments. Take myself for an example: after every graduation from one level of education, I have to move to a new environment to continue the next level education until at least getting a Bachelor degree. And when I was in primary school, I have transferred twice. On average changing happens around every 3 years. I had to learn to accommodate new environments quickly, to get into it. This was when making new friends helps. By doing this, I always got used to new environments easily. What happened to me is very common, at least very typical among Chinese teenagers. Hence it is of great importance to make new friends.

Keeping old friends, certainly, has its own merits. Old friends are usually true friends, and only old friends would care much about you, are willing to share their most valuable experiences and thoughts with you and will sacrifice their own interests for you.

But who says new friends cannot be true friends? As long as we sharpen our skill on friend making, new friends can soon develop into true friends. Therefore, keeping old, true friends are, of course, important, but people should be focusing more attention on building new relationships.