Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The popularity of the computer has provided us with great convenience. But at the same time, it has also lead to an increased number of children addicted to playing computer games. Some would argue that it is necessary to prohibit children from playing them. While my opinion is quite the opposite: playing computer games can bring many benefits to children thus should not be prohibited.

Playing computer games can provide great entertainment for children. And the entertainment will help children to study more efficiently. That is exactly why a class is usually set to be about 40-minute long and a break is usually inserted between classes. Children, engaging in the recreational activities during this break, can then get rid of the tiredness caused by the class and become energetic again, which in turn assisted them to concentrate in the next class. Back to playing computer games, it is nothing more than another kind of creational activities like singing songs, reading novels or playing ball games. Therefore we can allow children playing them pretty much as we would allow children singing songs.

Besides the benefit of getting entertained, computer games also provide an opportunity for children to improve their response speed, because most games require fast response speed to play well. For example, players of a famous game called Dota need to perform their attack or cast their spells as soon as some certain circumstances occur. If they miss that moment, then at best they will miss some gold award and at worst their hero would just get killed. Driving by the desire to win, the children will have to respond quickly. In this way, their response speed is improved. Therefore, playing computer games can be used as a tool to train the ability to make a quick response.

Furthermore, learning can be integrated into games, making the learning more appealing and the learned knowledge more memorable. Take myself as an example. I have always loved playing computer games, especially games in English. Every time I played a game, I learned a lot of new words and sentences. And the appealing games always attract me so much that I can not forget any of the game or the words. These words always left a much deeper impression in my memory than those learned from the class. For example, the phrase "cast a spell" and "perform an attack" are two of them. Hence, playing computer games can be indeed an alternative and potentially a more effective way of learning.

Admittedly, addicting to computer games may take up the time that could have been used to study. However, there is no need to prohibit children from playing. As long as the time of playing is well controlled, it can be very beneficial to students in learning.