Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I interpret "well-informed" as knowing most news and its truthful reports as well as forming thorough analysis of them. In this sense, it would be very important to get information from different sources.

First of all, sources of news are always categorized. For example, there are local news programs and international news programs on TV. In order to obtain news from as more aspects as possible, it is inevitable to stay tuned to different sources, such as both international programs and local programs. Only by checking news from different fields can we prevent missing important news in that specific field.

To be well-informed, we also need to know about the truthful reports rather than ones distorted by the media. That is another reason why getting information from different resources matters. News from a particular source, such as a certain company, may intentionally wipe out some facts that undermine its reputation or contradict its benefits. For example, this news agency may be sponsored by another group of companies, whose benefits and reputation are deeply related to the money invested in the news agency, thus resulting in the untruthful reports on the relevant news. For instance, if the news is about a proposal to build a new factory, the news agency would tend to report the positive effects of the proposal on the economy but ignore the potential bad influences on the environment. Another similar example is about politics. Media companies are often having a clear political standing, which also encourages them to make biased reports. Therefore, to prevent being deceived, obtaining information from different sources with different standpoints are necessary.

Apart from the coverage of news and the honesty of reports, the objectivity of analysis is also crucial to become well-informed. Thus reading editorials from different areas would be unavoidable. In this way, we can learn more about their perspectives, keeping us from always remaining at the same angle. By examining the analysis of different perspectives, more comprehensively we can learn about the impacts--its advantages and disadvantages from different angles--of an event. Provided with these pieces of information, we then could compare them, analyze what position is each of them holding and be well aware of the truthful reason of posting the editorials beneath the appearance, which could be maintaining the interests of their sponsors or their parties. Therefore, only by examining more resources can we form a more objective and insightful analysis.

In sum, to know more news and its truthful reports and to form a more penetrating analysis, a person must get information from many different news resources.