We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own."; disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Speaker expresses a notion that agreement on an issue is a great way to learn things and also disagreement is stressful and inhibit learning. My position is it's opposite.

Disagreement is not always about winning a conversation, rather it is all about making a fruitful conversation and sometimes a way to have a new perspective and knowledge. Suppose, someone disagrees with me about a method I practice to do a task, then he or she can acknowledge me a new and better way to do it.

No argument is absolutely right or wrong. There can be both sides. For example, one may not support “Abortion” as for him or her, it is analogous to murder. On contrary, other may support “Abortion” as for some women, it is not the perfect time and condition to take care of a child.

Sometimes, being disagreed may be must when the opposite opinion or justify an injustice point. For example, some may agree on granting the death penalty for a minor crime. Then it is must to disagree as it is not justified to execute death penalty for conducting a venial crime.

Speaker here claims that disagreement causes stresses. But he or she did not show any empirical observation or evidence about it. Without any factual evidence, it can not make a valid point.

Speaker also claims that people learn things when they agree with each other. But it is not always true. When people agree and on the same page, they may have the same knowledge, points and logic about the issue. So there are no windows through which any new point or logic can entry.

People can learn things by having a good conversation. But does not mean that being on the same page is the only way to learn something, rather it is beneficial to disagree sometimes to acknowledge the new thing.