The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The speaker claims that when the professors in Seatown University are offered free tuition for their college-aged children, there is a chance of higher retention of faculty. This claim is based on the scenario and conditions of Oceania University. But projecting the same condition on Seatown may not be valuable unless there are some legit reasons and substantiations behind this which is not enough here.

First of all, there is no statistical data that can present a good scenario of faculty retention. There is even no data about the number of teachers, what are their respective designations etc. There may have some other factors: the Ocenea University may have more funds for conducting research and projects. For being involved in those such projects, the retention is higher.

Furthermore, many teachers may not be married and have children yet in Seatown. There is no data of what number of teachers are married and have families, let alone the college-aged children. There may be more married teachers in Oceania University than Seatown with college-aged children.

Moreover, even if there is the policy of free tuition for college-aged children in Seatown, The guardian of the children have the choice to pick other university based on the facilities they offer. Only free tuition free is not the only factor to provide a great education for children, there should be also a number of other facilities like good library, great faculties, great study environment etc. SO only offering free tuition for children cannot lure new professors.

Again, only offering free tuition is not enough to lure professors. The Ocenea University may have a great professional environment for professors, great salaries, great research opportunities. Without ensuring these factors, only providing free education cannot only enhance the retention of the faculty.

In conclusion, to enhance morale among the faculty and to lure more new professors in Seatown, only the policy of free tuition for college-aged children of professor is not enough. There has to be more facilities and playing facts for the retention of faculty in Seatown University.