"Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain

The speaker asserts that it has become more important today to create an appealing image than the reality or truth behind that image. I concede the increasing importance of appealing image. However, I disagree with the view that its importance has outweighed that of reality or truth because they are still among the top concerns of people in whatever situations.

The most common case must be the commercial advertising. It may be true in the past, when the consumers' interests are more difficult to maintain, that creating an appealing image is more important because the risk of being accused of bad qualities was not as much as today. However, thanks to the improvement of laws to protect the consumers' interests, these companies should be very careful about the quality of their products. If they overemphasis on the appearance but ignore the quality, they would probably end up spending more money compensating the consumers. For example, in China, when you buy something online, you deserve the rights to get refunded in a week without the need of giving any explanations. If one company's products are good in appearance but poor at qualities, then they will have to refund for every product they have sold. Therefore, in contemporary society, despite the short-term effect on advertising of an appealing image, the truth and quality beneath it are far more important in the long run.

Beyond the advertising, this conclusion stills holds true when it comes to the academia. Researchers today, faced by the increasing pressure on publication, have to try their best to polish a paper to make it published. Admittedly, the appearances--its writing, illustrations, and logic in the paper--are always important. However, with only these things, even if it can get published, years later, when people finally find that there is nothing valuable beneath it, it will be criticized by the whole academia, and the reputation of the author goes with it as well as the career. No researcher dare to risk their career to do such risky things. Therefore, even in academia, the truth behind the appearances is still more important.

In other aspects, the situation is similar. Therefore, although it is certainly important to have an appealing image, in whatever aspects, more vital is to have the reality or truth beneath it.