The purpose of art is to upset; The function of science is to reassure.

With the advent of science there are new frontiers that are opening day by day. These are helping us understand very intricate subtleties of the humankind as well as nature around us. How we are made, how universe is made and so on are possible to be slightly understood now because of science. But it is not necessarily true that science is only helping to reassure us or helping to make us understand things around us. Similarly, the purpose of art is not solely to upset us. It can also motivate us, make us happy, satisfied, and decrease our stress and anxiety. To support my definition, I will present examples in the passage below.

First of all, it is true that science is helping us to understand our human body structure and how human being is designed or evolved. But, as we explore more about human body, the more complex it becomes. This make us think how can something as arcane as this can be designed by someone, who can think of such a complex machine. Hence, in this scenario, science is not helping us reassure that we are not made by some supernatural force. It made us think that there is some divine force which is responsible for designing the human, nature, and species around us. We are not made due to evolution that science is trying to support.

Certainly, science help us to reassure also. In earlier times human being tend to think of lighting in cloud to be an anger from the god, but science helped us understand that this is nothing but just a natural phenomenon. Similarly, science helped us understand various phenomenon such as climate change, how to tackle with climate change, make us believe that we can live even if we get some fatal diseases, which was not possible earlier. Therefore, science helps us to reassure us but also sometimes bewilder us.

Similarly, we cannot just say that art is there to upset us. Whenever we see something beautiful it makes our mind relaxed and stress free, increasing our productivity and longevity. Additionally, whenever we see dance, arts work, painting, etc. we get to know about the mindset and thinking of other people. These things make us happy and satisfied and also sometimes motivates us to do the same. However, it is true that when we see a hungry child in painting we feel sad, but we also feel motivated to do something for mankind. Therefore, art play one of the important role in helping the human to be happy as well as to see the surrounding reality. As it is aptly said, a picture is worth a thousand words, similarly, art helps us convey a message in the most apt way, which can sometime upset us, but can also help in making us joyous.

As, we have seen above, domain of science cannot be just limited to reassuring us, it can also make things around us more obscure and complex. Similarly, art is just not to upset us, it can make things around us lively and happy.