The study of an academic discipline alters the way we perceive the world. After studying the discipline, we see the same world as before, but with different eyes.

Study of an academic disciplines enlightens our view and perception towards that particular discipline. Human being constant endeavor to know more makes him explore and learn more. Without any prior knowledge about a domain, everything will seem either be a black-box or something mysteries done by supernatural forces. I will share my own personal experience as well as experience of humanity as a whole to support this viewpoint that after studying the discipline, we see the same world as before, but with different eyes.

First of all, as we all know, how our ancestors used to perceive the thundering and lighting. They used to think of it as anger by the god for their bad deeds. They also tried to win favor by god by sacrificing poor animals and sometimes humans. This all changed when we studied about how the environment behaves. Now we are seeing the same thunder and lighting, but we know why it is happening. Thunders are just natural phenomenon which happens during rainy reasons. Study of environment completely changed how we perceive these events. Phenomenons have not changed, neither our eyes, its just we studied this discipline and now we are perceiving it in a different way.

We can also correlate this to simple mobile phone also. If you ask a naive person who does not know anything about communication and software. He or she will think of it as black box, such a small device which can make you call across oceans. But if we ask this same question to a Software Developer, what will he say ? She or he knows everything about this. It is not merely a mysterious stuff. Instead, it is made up of cutting edge innovations in the field of telecommunication and software development.

I can also correlate this with what I used to thought about computers when I was a child. In childhood, I used to think of Computer Viruses as some real organisms which are not making my computer work because I don not take care of dust around my computer. But now, this is completely changed. Study of Computer Science discipline changed my total understanding of what is virus and how computer behave. Neither my old desktop is changed, nor my eyes, it just my knowledge of this discipline which has completely changed how I perceive the same world of computers surrounding me.

In the end, I would like to conclude that, getting to know more about a field, changes how we perceive that discipline. More we know, more our perception about that particular discipline will change.