The study of an academic discipline alters the way we perceive the world. After studying the discipline, we see the same world as before, but with different eyes.

The way we see something is an important aspect of perception of that thing. Everyone sees the same world every time, but the the way we interpret things vary from person to person depending on their experiences and knowledge.

A child sees the world without any prior knowledge about it. He solely depends on his view of the world, nothing else. But when the child grows up and learns about different knowledge achieved by human over the course of time, he perceives the world differently. He sees the same world that he used to see when he was a child, but in a different way. He interprets his views in a different way.

For instance, humans gazed towards the sky from the very beginning. They saw the stars, planets and many other astronomical objects without even knowing what they actually were. But over time, humans learned to study the stars and planets, their motions etc. And now we know that the stars are like our sun, with varying properties and many other things we didn’t know before. Now, we see the same sky with the same objects in it like the ancient humans used to see, but with a different perspective. This suggests that the world is the same as before, but we have learned to look at it in a different way.

Another intriguing example is the development of quantum mechanics. Isaac Newton said that light is a particle. But scientists rejected that theory and adopted the wave theory of light, which were compatible with experiments and phenomenons. But in 1900, Max Planck revived the particle theory of light in his quantum theory. Although at first opposed by the scientists, later the quantum theory of light was adopted by most scientists and was compatible with experiments. Now the quantum theory is vastly used in modern electronics, which suggests that light is the same as it were before, but the way we theorized it changed our perceptios about it.

There is natural phenomenon like thunder, which the ancient people feared so much. They thought of it as the expression of rage of God. But now we know exactly how thunder occurs, which changes our views about it.

Therefore, the world is the same as it were before, but it is our knowledge that makes us to see it in a different way.