Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Scandals are immoral deeds surreptitiously done by a person to achieve a goal. With the scandals being divulged, the perpetrator of the wrongful deed becomes a pariah and people lose any trust in that person. Of course the scandals can show us the weak points of our society, but we cannot wait for a scandal to make us aware of the liability of our society; there are negative points accompanying this method of making people aware, which render such method not the best way, as the author wrongly assumes. Chiefly, there are two kinds of scandals. Those related to the power, either political or financial, or they are related to sexual manners.

First, political scandals cast a feeling of alienation throughout a society. In politics the scandalous act of an authority makes the whole system questionable and people feel alienated when they cannot trust their political authorities anymore. Consider the lies and propaganda the politicians use in order to cover their defects, and not allowing people to know what is going on. In Iran, the president Ahmadi Nejad, by manipulating the statistics, did not allow the people to be informed about what is really going on. This scandalous manipulation, caused the alienation of people and arose many protests against his second presidency. Political intrigues also found their opportunity to instigate the situation. People became aware that how much they are vulnerable to the populist approaches and manipulation of the politicians, but the price was not justifiable.

In the sexual manner, we can see the scandal mongers in yellow magazines seeking only the private life of the celebrities to publicize their disloyalty in their relationships. Here the sexual scandals mostly distract the people from what is really going on in the world. The report of cheating of a relation between two stars can cloud a more serious news of a nation. A suspicious pregnancy of an actress can be a distraction to think about how much the millions of dollars debts of a country are not reduced a cent, and so on.

Finally, there are quite better alternatives instead of waiting for the scandals to loom. People can be educated in order to be aware of the happenings around them. Moreover, people can be enlightened with the leaders efficiently. The return of the honor to the African-American people in the hands of Martin Luther King happened only by the enlightening of the people, not the scandals.

In short, as discussed, there are certain negative effects that we should not resort to scandals to become aware of the imperfections of a society. We can become aware of the problems by a decent education or by the speeches of the leaders so drastically that we do not need any scandal to make us aware.