Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The topic can be interpreted from different angles for examining the usefulness of scandals. Undeniably, scandals reveal the true morals of the ruling authority or head of a system which is hidden from everyone. Nevertheless, they do not help people to know the better working solutions for a problem. They themselves are new problems raised due to greediness and selfishness of powerful people. Hence, I hold on the idea that scandals are not helpful for grabbing our attention to existing problems in a way that reformers cannot do.

First of all, a scandal is the wrong deed performed by a powerful and superior person or a group of people forced only by greed and selfishness. It is caused due to a greedy desire for having more materialistic things like money, property, power, etcetera. To illustrate, a politician makes an illegal deal with other nation to export a product which was not meant to be exported for the sake of money. This causes a rise in the usual price of the product. In this circumstance, a scandal occurs due to the greediness of the politician for more money whose effects are faced by the citizens of the same country. Furthermore, scandals create unnecessary problems in a stable system. They do not help to find the solution to the existing issues faced by the system. In contrast to popular belief of exposing unnoticeable ways to solve a problem. It will only expose the root cause of the problem occurred a long time back but would not help to find feasible solutions to the same. Apparently, they shift our attention to the root cause of the problem rather than helping us to focus on figuring out solutions to the problem.

Admittedly, scandals might help us to find out true morals of the authority of the system, thus giving people more knowledge to elect or choose a better one next time. This is specifically true when a ruling party emerges for scandals occurred years ago. The citizens now have a better understanding of the party and thus, they will avoid electing them again for the next time. However, it cannot be claimed that scandals will help us to focus our attention to existing problems in different ways. They are useful in exposing root causes of the problem. In this case, exposing of the scandal will be of a little help to solve the rise in the price of household products. Hence, one should not hold to the usefulness of scandals in exposing a problem for believing that they help people to see in the problem from a different angle.

In conclusion, although scandals are useful in finding out causes of an existing problem, they are of little help in finding ways to solve them. A reliable solution to the current problem faced by the people will only be designed by the reformer of the system.