The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author concludes here that the decrease in the number of shoppers in Central Plaza is due to the increase in the popularity of skateboarding and thus, prohibition of skateboarding will fuel the popularity of Central Plaza again. Stated in this way, the recommendation fails to acknowledge diverse pivotal aspects of the decrease in popularity of Central Plaza, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. It reveals several instances of poor reasoning and weak extrapolation. It tries to persuade the reader by manipulating facts and providing weak pieces of evidence. In support of the stated recommendation, the author reasons that decrease the business at Central Plaza is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. The author generalizes this assumption in a broader view with inattention towards other varying factors. Nevertheless, careful scrutiny of the pieces of evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's recommendation. Hence the recommendation can be considered uncorroborated and incomplete.

First of all, the recommendation is backboned by effortlessly assuming that the decrease in the businesses at the plaza is due to an increase in the number of skateboard users in the plaza. This is solely a belief without much solid argument. For example, the author must know the main reason for the people using skateboards in the plaza. It is possible that people use skateboards to save their time to avoid walking between shops on the two ends of the plaza. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated the main reason for people to use a skateboard.

The author also reasons that there is a dramatic increase in the amount of litter generated throughout the plaza. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not provide any correlation between skateboard users and a decrease in the businesses. To illustrate further, the author must pay attention to the sources generating litter. It might be possible that bins and litterbox have been moved far away from where they should be so people started throwing waste on the floors. It is also possible that there is no prim cleaning done after the working hours of the mall by the cleaning department resulting in aggregation of waste over a period of time. The generation of litter might be the main reason for avoiding people to come to plaza due to the foul smell they emit. Consequently, a decrease in businesses at the plaza.

Finally, the author extrapolates that prohibition of skateboarding at plaza would result in gains at businesses. However, careful examination of the prediction reveals that it provides a little credible support for the recommendation. The author must ask the businesses about the quality of service and products they sell. It is possible that services provided by the businesses itself have degraded as compared to two years back and as a result, leading to decrease in customers.

In conclusion, the author's recommendation is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, the author must provide concrete pieces of evidence, perhaps by a detailed analysis of the decrease in the business at the plaza.