Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

In the age of internet, the social media is in the heiday. The power of social medias affects not only the public but also the celebrities by the exposure news, which are in high frequency in various fields all over the world. At the same time, it comes controversies that whether the scandals is a beneficial power to supervise celebrities. From many evidences, we can see, in order to make scandals cntribute to ameliorate the social environment, it should be constrained in a modest range.

The quantity and quality of scandals is the important effect determining factor. In this information era, everyone suffers from excessive informations, resulting in the insensibility of the general public. Therefore the quantity and quality of the scandal in this information overflow age are the key indicator of it's effect. According to a survey conducted in China by HZNU, 70% of students are insensive to the scandals of actors and actresses, which can be interpreted as the result of excessive amount of scandals in the entertainment industry. However, nearly 90% of students expressed their concern about a recently political scandal, which are rare and impactful to the public. Additionally, over exposures cause mutual harm to the public and the celebrities. The public could become dumb to those new which is hard to verify and celebrities suffer from the feeling of having no privacy. Therefore, scandals are contributing as long as it is limited within certain quantity and guaranteed with its truthfulness.

The effect of scandals also depends on its field. In some fields, the scandals could produce positive effects while in certain fields, the release of scandals could be a calamity. For instance, the watergate event in which the president Nixon was accused of wiretapping his opponents results in the first resignation of a U.S. Presidents. The following investigation reveals a considerable number of dark side of the USA politic at that time, which greatly ameliorated the conprehensive political environment. The scandal in charity fields, however, could result in a series of negative, even life risking effects. In China, the scandal about the red cross association years ago caused unexpected consequence lasting for several years, which including the general shortage of the blood in developed area. The public tend to refuse to donate blood for the worries of AIDS. Therefore the blood become increasingly expensive in those cities, risking of patients who is in badly need blood but poor. Therefore, the effect of scandal largely depends on the particular fields of it.

Finally, under no circumstance should the scandal is faked. Those scandals would stain the neutrality of medias and incur criticisms. For long time, the journalist are refered as the representation of neutrality and justice by uncovering the truth to the public. The scandal, however, is in the grey zone of news. Most scandals are release without the permission from people involved in. The methods of investigating likewise varies from legal investigation to hidden photograph taking. Those methods and their conductors should not be blamed of as long as it is legal. However, to catch people's eyes, some reporter fake the scandals in order to gain fame, which is unforgiveable for they had crossed the essential of a journalist: to reveal the truth. The faked scandal, although it would be eye-catching, would spoil the credit of the whole social media. To sum up. the truthfulness is also the determining factor to the effect of scandals.

To sum up, whether the scandal can be useful should be estimated from different aspect including its fields, quality and quantity and truthfulness. The scandal, or the exposure is an intrinstic part of achieving justice and fair of human society in the age of information, as long as it is limited in a modest range.