Scandals Are Useful Because They Focus Our Attention On Problems In Ways That No Speaker Or Reformer Ever Could.

The author of the issue states that scandals may be fruitful, on the contrary of the fact that the majority repudiate it since he is of the opinion that it might be effective than reformers and speakers’ attempts in diverting the people’s attention into the problems. Although a superficial inspection reveals that scandals could be effective regarding that, it could bring about the reduction of corruptions and bribes in a society, as far as I am concerned it could not be efficacious in one way or another. After elaborating the point regarding of its effectiveness, I will address scandal’s inefficacy and even going so far as to conclude that scandals could be detrimental in some ways.

To begin with, I would affirm that scandals could thrust the politicians and higher-ups in the top of the organizational chart through the low-level subordinates, abstain from giving bribes. In other words, it may occasion to dwindle the rate of corporate corruption to a high degree. For example, think about a society that has free media. In such a community the fear of scandals give rise to people in the organization do their best in their jobs, and they abstain from committing corruption.

The first reason regarding the scandals inefficacy is that scandals might redirect the people’s attention to the superficial problems instead of an important one. For example, think about the case that a competent individual has been accused of a sex scandal. Although such a scandal is not extolled in nothing if not societies, it does not mean that such an individual has no merit of his place and must resign from his work. Anyone is responsible for his private issues, and such private matters do not necessarily reflect the merit of someone in his place.

Second, frequently exposing scandals might cast a shadow over the society and likely escalate the rate of disaffection throughout the community. For instance, imagine whenever you turn on TV/Radio hear about the scandals. Unconsciously the thought may be sprung to your mind that the government does not deserve managing the society, but it does not necessarily veracious, as you exaggerate the heinousness of the condition in your mind.

The last one but not least reason to censure the author’s assertion is that the ability of a speaker or reformers to redirect people’s attention is commensurate with his/her trustworthiness. If a trustworthy character like Mahatma Gundy is considered, we should say that the efficacy of such a speaker in directing people’s attention is higher than those scandals which their veracity is under question. To put it in a nutshell, the skeptics in society, who constitute a significant part, does not believe the veracity of scandals easily.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge that the scandals may eventually lead to some progress in our society in one way, they are not useful in some many ways and its effectiveness in comparison with trustworthy reformers ability in directing people’s attention is less. To sum up, to achieve real progress in social development, we need better education to increase people’s awareness of their rights and their sense of justice. _522 words