The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

The personnel director recommends to the President of the Acme Publishing Company that in order to improve the productivity of the company all of the employees ought to take Easy Read course which has shown some benefit that it may have. Although the premises seem to be tenable and plausible at first glance more scrutiny would shed light on their weakness and it turns out to be untenable, and cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The personnel director attempts to bridge the speed of the reading and productivity. Although it seems tenable, he does not put forward a quantitative measure which indicates all who read faster is a prolific employee. In other words, the question is whether reading faster causes you to become a prolific employee. Maybe if the company employees read faster, they would not be careful in reading and it leads to some error which in long term it would be inimical to the company.

The second flaw regarding the argument is that the author states that the benefits of such policies are higher than 500$ which is the cost of participating in the mentioned course. Nevertheless, he has not presented any quantitative measure in order to weigh up for the benefit. The benefit which the author has pointed out is a vague term which does not indicate anything till it will be expressed in quantity.

Besides above flaws, the third reason to challenge argument is that the effectiveness of such course is under question. Are there any survey to prove its effectiveness or it is just an advertisement propaganda? Ostensibly, most of such courses are proposed every year and it turns out to be futile most of them. So the veracity of authors claim is not based on a firm reason.

Having scrutinized all the premises, as it was shown in the body paragraphs, a plausible conclusion that can be drawn is that the author’s recommendation which was, all of the employees of the company should be obliged to take part in a Speed-Reading course in order to increase the productivity, seems untenable as there are some questions, having been ignored by the personnel director while the answer of could add to the logic of each premise.