Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?

Each person has some motivation to go forward and make progress in his life. Although sometimes some parents misconstrue this fact and try to create some motivations for their children's development. Undoubtedly, the impetus plays an essential role in people's life. I know it. But my saying is, impetus should be formed by our own thinking and external incentives like giving money is not a good practice to push student doing their best. The following paragraphs elaborate my rationale for being against the parent's habit which provides money to their children as an incentive.

First of all, I should point out to the fact that, this type of incentives cause a lot of behavioral disorder as some surveys, which have been conducted in my hometown country, shown us. The findings of these survey exhibited that most of the students who usually be motivated by some external incentives such as money and gift turned out to be not as successful as the other group whom they did not motivate at all with the same average of IQ. So based on these survey, we, as a parent, should not rely on the external incentive and we should do other things to help our children become successful people.

The second of all, if a child behaved in this ingratiating manner sooner or later, the number of people around him will dwindle to a great extent. In other words, it can lead to children become an obsequious person, and no one in the world would not admire this behavior regardless of the culture issue. As a personal experience, I had a friend which I cannot count on him unless I do something in favor of him. On that days, I was the only friend of him. Meanwhile, we are not friends anymore. So It is not an admirable idea to teach our children to behave like this.

The last but not least, maybe a day come which they do not need to anything in their life. So nothing can make them happy anymore and they do not try to make progress anymore. I mean, if all the things were available, they would not incline to make progress as they did not find the real impetus of the life. So we should help the children to find out the real and main impetus of life. To put it in a nutshell, we likely misconduct the children to find their own motivation.

All in all, I strongly disagree with the money-giving policy as I found it, at best ineffective, at worst, misconducting. The parents should teach their children to find some real impetus instead of such fictitious impetus if they are willing to have successful children.