"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

The author of the argument asserts that Balmer Island higher-ups should set a limitation on the number of mopeds rental to dwindle the number of accident, occurred between mopeds and pedestrian. Although the author’s argument seems to be tenable and rational at first glance, more scrutiny shed light to its weakness, and it turns out to be untenable as it rests on a number premises all of which could be challenged or questioned in one way or another.

The first question that comes to mind is that, whether it comes from careless pedestrian? If so, it does not matter enforcing restraints on mopeds or not. In other words, the problem arouses from the other cause, and limiting the number of mopeds could not be effective. For example, it would be better if the town council increase the number of cautious signs in order to preclude this prospect.

The second fault with author’s argument is that, whether the Seaville’s accident reduction is strictly tantamount to decreasing the mopeds or not? If not, maybe the higher-ups of Seaville town take another policy to prevent such accidents. For example, perhaps they have provided a specific route for mopeds, and its aftermath had been such a reducing in the number of accidents.

The last but not least reason to challenge the author’s argument is that the author assumed the reduction measure strictly would be 50 percent. Whether this strict quantity comes from speculation and profound study or imitates Seaville’s reduction quantity? If it is just an imitation, it will better not to be considered. Determining such percentages and quantities are merely is commensurate with the population and structure of a region and can be influenced by people’s loyalty to law. So the number of factors could play the role and should be considered to calculate such a quantity.

Having scrutinized all the premises, plausible conclusion that can be drawn is that the author’s conclusion that enforcing limitation on the number of mopeds that are rented by the rental companies seems untenable as there is a number of question, having been ignored by the author while the answer of could add to the logic of each premise.