Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Art is one of the human aspects that discriminates human from other creature in the cosmos. The art is a varied collection of all the things that evokes humans’ spirit. The art bestows solace to our soul and paves the way of living in the harsh world. Some believe that art is a human spiritual aspect and no one could bid it. They are whom severely condemn the materialism, as they think that it hurts the integrity of the art. Some other challenge them in the way that, how the artist, who creates art, could earn a living regardless of the money, the prerequisite of all the things in our materialistic world. In other words, they go so far as to obligate the government to subsidize art specifically to ensure that the art is blossomed and become available to all people. As far as I am concerned, there are some disadvantages on each side of the coin. After elaborating the points regarding of each side disadvantages, I will address that, the funding the art is more rational in comparison to the other belief.

From one direction, if the government finances the art, it would lead to an egregious phenomenon. The unfair art. In such a case the politicians may abuse the art, to progress their own will in society. For instance, it may lead to the national media will be glutted with some of the political programs. Probably, such program's aim to praise the competency of the government and legitimize their merit. Even it may go so far as to do not let the other artists express their arts. All in all, it hurts the legitimacy of art.

But on the other side, from the financial outlook, if the government does not subsidize the art, the public interest of art dramatically will be dwindled, because one of the most motivating factors to inspire the human to work, willy-nilly, is financial aspect. Accordingly, soon, the number of artists will be reduced dramatically, the art is being fade and at last, is being forgotten. This phenomenon would lead to a pernicious effect on the culture of a civilization.

Another flaw regarding in not subsidizing art is that many people who their jobs are related to the art may lose their job. In other words, this condition may put at risk not only an artist but also the all other people who their jobs are indirectly related to the art somehow. For instance, one who sells ticket of a theatre may hurt from such a condition as well. As a result, it may dramatically escalate the rate of unemployment in a country.

To sum up, although it seems government’s finance may go away the art from its desire, it is not worth the art diminishing or unemployment increasing. So I am of the opinion that the governments should finance the art not only because of preventing of the culture slaughtering but also because of limiting of unemployment increasing.