A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the argument attempts to bridge the birth order to the individual’s levels of stimulation regarding the hormone Cortisol’s secretion. However, the author’s premises seem to be tenable and rational at first glance, more scrutiny shed light on its weakness, and it turns out to be untenable in some ways which as follows.

The first flaw that could be taken from this study is that the number of population is 18 and it likely could not meet the requirement of such a statistical study. The sample size seems small in size, and it may lead to wrong results. Furthermore, the author disregards any explanation about how these 18 monkeys have been selected for the study. Maybe, if there were a bigger population at hand, it could decry the drawn conclusion of the study as mentioned earlier. To put it in a nutshell, the circumstances and details around the survey should be contemplated, and sufficient sample size exists for such studies.

Another weakness of the argument that arises from the fact that the individual’s level of stimulation strictly caused by hormone Cortisol. It may sound rational to think that there are some other heralds regardless of the hormone Cortisol. In plain English, another study should be undertaken so as to correlate the level of hormone Cortisol with the individual’s levels of stimulation. If there is, it has to refute the effect of any potential herald that could lead to individual’s levels of stimulation. All in all, it should be proven that the Cortisol’s concentration has a direct relationship with the individual’s level of stimulation.

The third reason that could be considered to refute the argument and regard it as a questionable claim is that the Cortisol’s level might be escalating due to the stress that the first-time mothers deal with it since they had not any similar experience before. However, it does not approve that the first child undoubtedly has the higher level of stimulation. Maybe the mother who had the third pregnancy has stress with the different root (e.g., poor economic condition) regardless of pregnancy’s tension. Hence, it seems that the matter does not correlate with the order of the pregnancy.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a plausible conclusion that can be drawn is that the birth order and the individual’s levels of stimulation do not have a remarkable correlation. So the argument seems untenable as there are some questions, having been ignored by the author while the answer of could add to the logic of each premise.