Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument concludes that woven baskets are not necessarily made by Palean as the recent findings turned out similar baskets has been found in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim river from Palea. Although the premises seem to be tenable and plausible at first glance, more scrutiny shed lights to its weakness, and it turns out to be untenable and cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

First of all, the author pointed archaeologist’s new findings out and noticed a plight which is a deep and broad river that makes it demanding Palean people to travel to Lithos to bring them the basket. Although it seems to be sufficient to accept the impossibility of traveling to Lithos by Palean, maybe Palean’s boats have been eradicated over time or purloined by someone. In other words, it seems rational to think that after anchoring the boat in the riverside, someone stole the boats and transferred it to another location. In conclusion, it could weaken the author’s premise.

Second, the author has only considered the Palean boats and not the Lithos one. Maybe some Lithos tourists travel to Palea and bring such baskets to Lithos as a souvenir. In other words, maybe there were some Lithos boats that the author has not considered such a possibility and his premise could be weakened through this possibility.

For the last one, the author assumes that the way to create the basket would be esoteric and the Palean were not going to disclose how to develop such baskets. Maybe some Lithos people have learned how to create a basket and then attempt to make it on their own. Accidentally the baskets that they created have some extent of similarity with the Palean’s one. But it does not mean that Palean and Lithos baskets are the same. So the author’s premise could be challenged in this way.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a plausible conclusion that can be drawn is that the author’s conclusion that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean seems untenable as there is a number of question, having been ignored by the author while the answer of could add to the logic of each premise.