According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The author of the memo states that the lower the public to welcome the Super Screen movies is explicable in terms of the public's lack of awareness. So he recommends allocating a greater share of his company's budget next year to reach the public through advertising.

Although the premises seem to be tenable and plausible at first glance more scrutiny would shed light on their weakness and it turns out to be untenable as it is in that the argument rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The argument hints at a report but the veracity of the report is under question. The question is whether the report has been prepared under fair circumstances? The population who take part in this report is sufficient or not? To put it in a nutshell, the report has been carried under a standard circumstance or not. Maybe the number of who are not fond of Super-Screen movies are more considered in this report. Nevertheless, the number of people who like the Super-Screen movie is more than the reports has portrayed.

The author of the mem has pointed out to the increasing the number of positive reviews. The question spring to mind is whether the reviewers who take part in the review are impartial? In other words, maybe they are beneficiary to back the Super Screen movies. In other words, the value of their reviews is under question unless the even-handedness of their reviews will be proved.

The last but not least flaw regarding the argument is that the advertisement does not guarantee that the number of people who are not fond of Super-Screen movies becomes more interested. The question is whether the advertisement is effective or not? In other words, the effectiveness of advertisement has not been addressed in the meme. A further study is needed in order to prove the effectiveness of the advertisement. Maybe the issue not worth the investment. It should be addressed by the author of the argument.

Having scrutinized all the premises a plausible conclusion that can be drawn is there are some question having been ignored by the author which the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise. At the current time, there is room for improvement and common sense tells us that this recommendation should be taken into account.