The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument attempts to bridge the ill behavior of the skateboarders and the dramatic decreasing in shopping in the Central Plaza. Although it may seem to be tenable at first glance, more scrutiny shed lights to its weakness, and it turns out to be untenable since the author has disregarded some aspects and consequently his claim rests on some premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem that is arousing to my mind is that maybe decreasing shopping rate in this center has another root. For instance, economic recession, sanctions that applied to shopper’s country or even it may roots from the decreasing in the quality of goods. Who knows? So, however, It could think that the skateboarders make an ill effect in the shopping rate, but it is necessary to consider all other related roots.

The second problem regarding the author’s argument is that not just a skateboarder, but also everyone could make a litter and cause vandalism. In other words, it is irrational to accuse just the skateboarders to these damages although, everyone could make these corruptions. So it must be answered that if only the skateboarder's behavior given rise to these damages or there is another rationale.

The third reason to challenge with the author’s argument is that I believe that this actions not only does not ameliorate the current condition but also do exacerbate it. This thought comes from the fact that, maybe some shoppers accustomed to shopping through skateboarding. It may restrict theme, and they tend to go to the shops or centers that let them go there with their skateboards.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a plausible conclusion that can be drawn is that the Central Plaza higher-ups should not ban and put the restriction to skateboarders as there are some questions, having been ignored by the author while the answer of could add to the logic of each premise.