Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals are an easy form of obtaining popularity and attract attention of the fickle minded population. Most scandals tend to be of immaterial information that serves no useful purpose. In my opinion, scandals are not helpful in holding our attention to a problem and a speaker or a reformer may project it better.

Scandals are not always on the important problems of life. Hardly few scandals constitute of political, social or environmental problems that keeps any speaker or reformer sleepless at night. The content of most scandals are so fickle that most people tend to not believe them on the first place. One would find themselves reading a scandal about a Hollywood actor or actress and how they may have cheated upon their life partner in a newspaper’s entertainment section more often than reading a scandal about a third world country’s government’s continued corruptive activities. Thus, scandals are most likely to focus on light weighted issues that will be immaterial for a speaker or reformer to include in their speech.

Most scandals tend to be blown out of proportion. The extent of truth in the scandal may be indiscernible even after the commotion of it has tied down. People tend to be so involved with the fickle idea of the scandal itself that they often forget to use their logic to assess the extent of truth contained in the scandal. The extent of truth may further be moderated by anyone since scandals may be manipulated by the individuals who are spreading the news. Scandals that contain more spurious information tend to be more inflammatory and popular among people, hence the truth gets manipulated more often than required. Thus, our attention remains drawn to a more fickle story than a real world problem.

However, one must analyse the other side of this argument too. A popular movement in 2017 has been the “Metoo” movement that started with a scandal. Bollywood actress Tanushree Dutta alleged that actor Nana Patekar had sexually abused her during a film making. The scandal had not only raised concerns within the Bollywood fraternity but had also spread the concern to other countries beyond India such as Bangladesh, Pakistan where Bollywood is a source of entertainment. People were audacious enough to send their support to this actress in social media by including the message #Metoo, which signified that they had also been victim of sexual abuse. Reformers and speaker continuously include this agenda in their speeches but how many of us tend to delve deeply in to the subject and act upon it? We forge as soon as the speech ends. However, the scandal here had a much wider reach and continued for a longer period of time – almost four months – and thus being able to hold the attention of audiences for a extended period of time. Therefore, scandals are in some instances helpful in bringing attention to serious problems in the society.

Scandals are in most cases based in important topics and tend to be spurious than truth – thus rendering their benefit even if they are able to hold people’s attention for a longer period of time. They are not always based on actual problems that the world needs to stand up against, hence, much is not gained from a scandal.