The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the advertising director from Super Screen Movie Production Company attempts to convince its reader to allocate more share of the company's next year budget to increase public awareness through advertising. However, there are a number of unwarranted assumptions that does not make this conclusion a very convincing one.

The director makes reference to a recent report produced by the production company's marketing department to ascertain that fewer people have attended the movie screening of films produced by the company. However, there is no further information to corroborate this statement other than this vague reference to a report made by the own company. There is no further information on how the report results were generated. It gives rise to multiple questions in the reader's mind - was there a survey or interview conducted at movie theatres? If so how may people comprised of the sample? What was the population size and so on. Thus, there is little credibility on this report that is being referenced to by the advertising director. The argument would have been strengthened if the director had relied on an independent report prepared by a market research firm and if it had mentioned additional information on the methodology of the report to come to its conclusion.

In addition to the above, the director argues that percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers have increased even though fewer people have attended the movie screening of movies. But how are the reviews provided by the reviewers categorized as positive or negative. Are the reviewers rating the movies based on a standard scale or are the reviews open ended opinions provided as a feedback. If the latter, then how can the company accurately categorize a feedback positive or negative since open ended answers tend to be broad and can be ambigious at times. Furthermore, there is no information on the reviewers - are they film critics, industry specialists, or simple movie goers who might not even have the slightest idea on how to judge a movie. Thus, the director should have included information on the type of people who constitute the reviewer panel and examples of a few reviews that they have provided. This would have further strengthened the director's contention.

Furthermore, the argument also mentions that not enough of the prospective viewers are being reached. This is a vague statement as what would constitute as "enough viewers" is open to multiple interpretation. Would 50% of a pool of 100 viewers be sufficient or 80% of viewers of the pool is required to meet this arbitrary threshold. The director also mentions that the percentage of positive reviews have also increased. However this does not necessarily indicate that more individuals have provided positive feedback than previous year. Thus the director should have included empirical data to corroborate such claims rather than just stating the premise.

Therefore, considering all of the above unwarranted assumptions made the director in his memo, he fails to successfully convince its readers to agree with him on increasing the advertising budget to increase public awareness.