Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions should not dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. An education institution should not have a saying on which line of studies a student might pursue simply by trying to assess his or her ability to succeed in that field.

We will not have to delve far to prove that educational standing has no bearing on a person’s success. Jack Ma – founder of Aliexpress, world’s cheapest online shop was a high school dropout, yet he is presently running one of the largest company in the world, and made is mark on the Forbes list as one of the richest Asians in the world. Had his school decided to dissuade him from his chosen field of study, he might not be where he is today for how would the institution know what an individual will grow up to be. What would be the procedure followed by educational institutions to assess the measure of success? Will it be grades or how well a student performs their extra-curricular activities? Had this been the measure of success then the institution attended by Jack Ma would have never thought that this individual would one day make his mark in history.

The major responsibility of educational institutions is to graduate students with an all-encompassing knowledge. A student with only a focused knowledge on finance only will not be adequately empowered to fight in the real world and make his mark. A business graduate must have an all-encompassing knowledge of all aspects of a business – finance, human resources, management etc. Without these wider knowledge he/she may not be able to lead a basic life - knowledge of finance would help him to control his expenses against his income, knowledge of human resources may help him know what are the traits that interviewers look for during hiring which will help him to get a job, knowledge of management would help him to even manage his own business if he manages to invest into one, one day.

Furthermore, an all encompassing curriculum helps a student who remains undecided to keep his/her option open. Many students in their earlier years remain confused on the fields that they would want to pursue. It is unlikely that these students would not be able to keep their grades up. However, it does not necessarily mean that they would not be successful in that particular field in the future. The educational institution will not be in a position to assess his success ten years from now. As such, dissuading such students from their current field of study will not be an appropriate course of action for the educational institution.

However, one must also see the other side of the argument. If a third year student persistently fails in his chosen field of study and remains under probation, then it is very unlikely that he/she will be able to graduate with a decent GPA in that subject to land himself/herself with a decent job. For cases as such, educational institutions are in a better position to dissuade them to a much easier field of study owing to the fact that it might mean lesser number of courses, thus, lower cost of attending schools and lesser time of graduating as well.

Therefore, considering the above arguments, educational institutions have a more endearing responsibility of producing graduates who possess an all-encompassing knowledge that will allow him/her to succeed in the next phase of life rather than dissuading students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.