People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Emotions are an integral part of human beings – perhaps a distinctive feature among all living things given that we are unable to discern the emotions that are displayed by other living things like a cat or a dog. Each individual are endowed with a different emotional capacity – while one is overly sentimental and mawkish to be affected by even a mere glare, another person can just as be apathetic to the point of being indifferent to rebuke. Taking decisions when emotions run high is not a characteristic of a good decision maker.

Some people when emotional are so involved with their feelings that they are unable to think through and see any underlying logic to an agreement. Taking decisions during such a situation is not the best way to go forward while taking an important decision that might have great consequences. A good decision maker would take a decision after analyzing the pros and cons of a situation and take a sound decision that will be beneficial for all. For example, a person with a heart-break would not be in a position to choose his or her life partner immediately after separating from their previous partner, as he or she might be prone to being attracted to anyone who might lend them a shoulder to cry upon.

Further to the above, not all decisions are such that you may go back on them. At times, our decisions may have such great bearing on our own life that there is no scope of rectifying the situation if handled wrongly under a emotional phase. A very true and realistic example would be the situation of my sister. A very emotional person she left her job at one of the biggest advertising company in the country just because her supervisor had tried to throw her under the bus for an error she had not made but which he had made. However, she now remains unemployed for eight straight months despite trying for numerous positions and interviews. True that working under such a supervisor is difficult, but had it not been better if she had taken another job and then left the current one? She did not think through and took a rash decision under emotions and paying the price. Even if she tries, she is unable to join back there as she had left making a scene. Hence not enough logic can justify her decision taken at that time.

However, one must also analyse the other side of this argument. Some decisions are critical enough that emotions do play an important role. A person should definitely take into account the fact that whether he or she loves their partner while deciding to enter into a marriage with them. The emotion of love at that time is very important while taking this life-changing decision since he or she would have to live with him or her for their whole life. You cannot always be materialistic and apathetic while taking a decision to live with a person whom you do not love. Compromise is an integral part of a successful marriage and no one would not want to make a compromise for someone one does not love.

Therefore, taking the above considerations into account, I would opine that it is not always wise as a decision maker to take a decision under emotional situations. Emotions do not always let us think thoroughly to take a logical decision and at time there great consequences attached with our decisions that no matter how we try to justify the action, it may not be enough to go back on our actions.