An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states that the government of Tagus should do anything to promote the new type of millet among the citizens of Tagus in order to combat Vitamin A deficiency since it will be rich in vitamin A. However, there are numerous underlying assumptions to this argument that makes it faulty to some extent.

First and foremost, the newly engineered millet would not only contain Vitamin A but other food contents – such as carbohydrate. Millets are usually high in carbohydrate as they are grains. As such a major question arises on what will be the percentage of vitamin A content in the millet. The argument does not clearly state how much vitamin A content will there be in the millet per serving to determine whether it will be all encompassing to battle vitamin A deficiency when it is so likely that it will be rich in carbohydrate.

Secondly, the argument assumes that since millet is a staple food in Tagus, the citizens of Tagus will readily accept it. But the writer has not taken into consideration other factors that might determine people’s readiness to include the newly engineered millet as staple in their food habit. Such factors may be taste of the millet, market price of the millet, availability of the millet in the nearest grocery shop, variety of foods that can be prepared with it, etc. If the millet is not tasty enough, people will not readily include it as a staple for their daily meal. True that production of the millet will be subsidized but the argument provides no information on the market price of this millet – will the price be higher or lower than the millets currently available in the market. The argument would have been more persuading if it had included that the new millet will be tastier than the regular millets in the market and would be traded at a lower price than the ones available in the market thus making it more economical, healthier and tastier to consume.

Lastly, the argument mentions that the government will subsidize the production of the millet so that farmers are encouraged to grow them. However, what will be the size of subsidy that will be offered to the farmer? Would it be sufficient enough to cover costs and pull down the cost of production near to the cost involved in producing regular millet? If not, it is likely that the new millet will cost higher than regular millets and people will not be willing to opt for a costlier meal. Furthermore, subsidizing the millet production will call for higher costs for the government and tighter budget which is likely to be transferred to the people of Tagus via higher taxation. This is likely to create an aversion among people to accept the millet as their staple meal. In addition, the duration of the subsidy provided will also determine the length of time for which the millet production will be cost efficient for the farmers.

Due to the above unwarranted assumptions made by the writer, the argument fails to convince its readers why Tagus would readily accept the new millet as their staple food to reduce vitamin A deficiency and the government’s effort to make it acceptable to all households.