Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Understanding the problems of the society through scandals is not good.The prompt suggests that scandals are a good medium of information. In my opinion, i strongly disagree with the suggestion and argue that the scandals are harmful to the society and they can only propogate negative thoughts in the reader minds for two reasons.

To begin, scandals often bring hot news for people. it certainly brings focus on the issues which are not considered important in every day life. However , their single sided representation cannot be considered useful as it might induce false emotions in to the public. Most of the scandals use a particular loophole in the system of any organization and exploit it to an extent such that it backfires. Revealing the details of the scandal will also reveal the loopholes in the sytem to public. Allowing the public to try and implement the scandal on their own.

Further these scandal infuse negative/criminal thoughts into the brains of the public. These thoughts may not lead them to commit a scam. But there will be a greater risk of them commiting a malpractice. In worst case scenario one might commit even henious crimes.

Even if we assume that the information of the scandal is safe to reveal and does not enrage public. There are many ways to get details of a particular problem. By examining the problem in and out one can grasp the whole details of the problem and how to solve it.

Of course some argue that scandals are informative. But at what cost? they may lure one to to scam. People have right to know about the scams and scandals but they are not the only source to focus on problems.