It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Cities are the main hotspots of any country. A major population of the country lives around and inside the city. This makes the cultural aspects of the city more vibrant. The prompt says that it is primarily in cities a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the prompt for three reasons.

To begin, cities are a vital clog in the development of a nation, but that does not mean that they withhold the country's traditions. For instance, consider the New York city, it is famous for its diversity and multi-national cultures. However, it does not mean that the New York city is the cultural hub of the USA. The presence of many cultures makes it difficult to emphasize only on USA traditions in the city. The city is obliged to equally respect all other cultures. Simply, cosmopolitan cities cannot give much priority to its own country's traditions, without belittling other country's traditions.

Further, in this ever-evolving world, very few people give any importance to the traditions and the cultures of the country, and a large portion of such population are from cities. City life at times can be the most exhausting one. People living in cities rarely find leisure time to take care of themselves let alone the traditions and cultures. In this situation it is somewhat aggrandization to say that cities are the ones which preserve and generate the traditions.

However, some aspects of the city play crucial role in preserving of the country's traditions and culture simultaneously being secular. Cities act as the gateway between the foreign cultures and the country's very own cultures. The celebration of any particular festival in a city might introduce this to a totally outsider who is unaware of the traditions and cultures of the country. In this way Cities can be the great source of highlighting the country's traditions.

Some people may argue that the cities contain many cultures and thus it is great ambassador of the country's tradition, but is it really true? many cities have to compromise their own cultures in order to be a cosmopolitan city. Hence in my opinion it is somewhat obvious that cities are not mostly preserving the country's traditions.