While the Department of Education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The department of education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework every day. However, based on the results of statewide survey conducted, the department changed its decision to not assign more than homework more than twice a week. The author came to the conclusion based on data presented by the district of Marlee where students are getting better grades due to less homework. Whereas in the district of Sanlee, the assignment of homework did not produce good grades. However, before this recommendation is properly evaluated, three assumption has to be cleared.

First of all, the author assumes that the education system of the two districts Sanlee and Marlee are comparable. In other words, the author is assuming that the two states have similar curriculum. It is possible that the curriculum of the two districts are totally different and are not comparable by any means. It is possible that the curriculum of Marlee district demands students to complete the work in the school itself thus providing no chance for the teachers to assign more homework. If the education system of the two districts are not comparable then the argument has no credibility.

Secondly, the author made the conclusion based on the survey conducted only on the math and science teachers, which seems to be biased. There is a possibility that the science and math teachers demand more homework for the students than other teachers. This means that the schools with a greater number of science and math faculty tend to support the recommendation that more homework is to be imposed on the students. A proper survey has to be conducted including all kinds of the faculty in a school in order to come to the conclusion.

Moreover, the author made conclusion based on the report that only 25 percent of teachers at the district of Marlee are assigning homework three to five times a week. There is a possibility that more than 25 percent of the teachers at Marlee are assigning the homework three to five times a week but they never showed interest in participating the survey, making the results of the survey inaccurate. The statewide survey is the core of the argument thus ineffectiveness of the survey hampers the argument.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If author is able to provide the evidence to the above three assumptions then it is possible to evaluate the viability of assigning homework no more than twice a week.