Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

At this juncture, it is pertinent to begin with a definition of the word "scandal". A scandal can be said to be an occurrence whereby a celebrity or public person, such as a politician is publicly disgraced because of some particular actions he/she took wrongly, which in turn could affect the person’s reputation.

I agree with the prompt, which states that scandals are useful, as they tend to highlight and emphasize the problems better than any speaker can. Scandals are more objective and free of bias, and they re-sound the moral lesson even better than a speaker would. To begin with, a speaker can only say what he/she has knowledge of, while a scandal fully exposes the problem, without any alterations or anything being clandestine.

In addition to this, scandals tend to be more objective in exposing the problems. When a speaker or a reformer tries to address a problem, the speaker may highlight parts of the problem they want to discuss, thereby resulting in the speaker being biased. However, the resulting consequences of a scandal objectively depict the problem. Furthermore, these resulting consequences also seem to be more persuasive as a moral lesson to the society. For instance, when Tiger Woods had an affair and cheated on his wife, the resulting consequence was that it affected his career, as he lost some important endorsement just because of that single act.

In conclusion, scandals are highly useful in focusing in focusing our attention on a problem because scandals are more objective in nature as they play out by themselves, and they tend to reverberate the moral lesson even better than a speaker would.